Shell V-Power Racing Team

Shell V-Power Racing Team and DJR Team Penske Header Image  

Viva Energy Australia’s partnership with DJR Team Penske dates back to 1967 when Shell first sponsored Australian motorsport legend, Dick Johnson.

At the end of 2016, the historic partnership was reborn as the newly named Shell V-Power Racing Team was announced for the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, with drivers Scott McLaughlin (car 17) and Fabian Coulthard (car 12).

The 2017 season was one of the most exciting in Supercars history with the Shell V-Power Racing Team crowned as Supercars Teams’ Champions and both drivers finishing inside the top three. In a thrilling season finish, Scott McLaughlin narrowly missed out on the Drivers’ Championship in the final seconds of the final race of the year in Newcastle.

The 2018 season is shaping up to be just as successful, with the Shell V-Power Racing Team taking an early lead in the Teams Championship and Scott McLaughlin again challenging strongly in the Drivers Championship.

The partnership goes beyond sponsorship with a close technical collaboration between Shell, Team Penske, Viva Energy Australia and DJR Team Penske on product development. This shared expertise helps bring motorsport technology to Australian drivers through Shell premium fuel and lubricants products, including Shell V-Power and Shell Helix.

The relationship continues with Shell V-Power committed to partnering with DJR Team Penske into the next decade, building upon the history and great success they have enjoyed for more than 50 years.


Click here to find out more about this historic motorsport partnership.

To visit the DJR Team Penske team website, Click here

Scuderia Ferrari and the Shell V-Power Racing Team at the Australian Grand Prix

 Shell V-Power Racing Team RC car